## Save the date

## ROAD SAFETY PERFORMANCE INDEX ANNUAL CONFERENCE AND AWARD CEREMONY 2021

Web-conference tool: Online / Zoom Platform

Date and time: Wednesday, 16 June 2021, 10:30 – 13:00 (CET)

10.30	Welcome and introductions
10:45	15 <sup>th</sup> PIN annual report: Ranking EU progress on road safety, Antonio Avenoso, ETSC
11.05	PIN award winner 2021, presentation by the Minister responsible for road safety Q&A
11.30	Road safety actions by the European Commission, Adina-Ioana Vălean, Commissioner for Transport, European Commission (invited)  Q&A
11.55	Pictures of the 2021 award winner
12.00	Panel Discussion – On the Road to 2030 – how can we do better?
13:00	End of the meeting

The ETSC's Road Safety Performance Index (PIN) programme was set up in 2006 as a response to the first road safety target set by the European Union to halve road deaths between 2001 and 2010. In 2010, the European Union renewed its commitment to reduce road deaths by 50% by 2020, compared to 2010 levels.

By comparing Member State performance, the PIN serves to identify and promote best practice and inspire the kind of political leadership needed to deliver a road transport system that is as safe as is practicable.

The PIN covers all relevant areas of road safety including road user behaviour, infrastructure and vehicles, as well as road safety policymaking. Each year ETSC publishes PIN 'Flash' reports on specific areas of road safety. All PIN report are available at www.etsc.eu/pin.

In June each year ETSC's analysis of overall annual progress on tackling road deaths and serious injuries is published in the PIN Annual Report. The report covers 32 countries, including all EU Member States.

Each year ETSC hosts the PIN conference which is also the platform for the presentation of the PIN Award to the best performing country.

ETSC, together with its national Members, also organises PIN Talks in several Member States each year.

The PIN programme receives financial support from the German Road Safety Council (DVR), Toyota Motor Europe, the Swedish Transport Administration, the Norwegian Public Roads Administration and CITA - the International Motor Vehicle Inspection Committee.